EFAs Grand Finale 2020

The 33rd European Film Awards

Presented as a series of virtual events, the European Film Awards 2020 took place every evening from 8 to 12 December with a livestream of “The EFAs at Eight”, celebrating the nominees and winners of the various categories of the 2020 European Film Awards.

The entire programme was streamed live at www.europeanfilmawards.eu and through an international network of streaming and broadcasting partners, with the nominees & winners joining via live video conference.

The EFAs at Eight: From Survival to Revival: Building the Post-Covid Future
Re-structuring, re-engineering and re-aligning the European film industry

with British director Mark Cousins, recipient of the new EFA Award for Innovative Storytelling for his ground-breaking documentary WOMEN MAKE FILM: A NEW ROAD MOVIE THROUGH CINEMA; Polish director and former EFA Chairwoman Agnieszka Holland; Kirsten Niehuus, CEO Film Funding Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg; and Danish director Thomas Vinterberg, nominated with his film ANOTHER ROUND.

moderated by UK-based Wendy Mitchell, editor of EFA Close-Up, contributing editor at Screen International and a consultant for the San Sebastian, Rotterdam and Zurich film festivals.

The EFAs at Eight: The EFA Excellence Awards

Presenting the winners in the categories European Cinematography, Editing, Production Design, Costume Design, Make-up & Hair, Original Score, Sound, and Visual Effects
moderated by Wim Wenders & Marion Döring

The EFAs at Eight: EURIMAGES, Short Film & EUFA

Presenting the winners in the categories EURIMAGES Co-Production Award, European Short Film and European University Film Award (EUFA)
moderated by Mike Goodridge

The EFAs at Eight: Comedy & Animation

Presenting the winners in the categories European Comedy & European Animated Feature Film
moderated by Mike Goodridge

The EFAs 2020 Grand Finale from the Futurium in Berlin:

Presenting the EFA Award for Innovative Storytelling, as well as the Awards for European Documentary, European Discovery, European Actress, European Actor, European Screenwriter, European Director and European Film.

Announcing – for the first time – the nominations for the LUX European Audience Film Award by the European Parliament and the European Film Academy and in partnership with the European Commission and Europa Cinemas

moderated by German TV host and film buff Steven Gätjen
hosted by Marion Döring, Mike Downey, Agnieszka Holland & Wim Wenders

The European Film Awards 2020 were presented by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions. Public supporters: Creative Europe MEDIA Sub-Programme of the EU, Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, FFA German Federal Film Board, German State Lottery Berlin, and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. Sponsors: GLS, Ottolina, ŠKODA AUTO Deutschland. Exclusive hair styling partner: AVEDA. Media partners: Cineuropa, Euronews & radioeins.