The 34th European Film Awards in Berlin

The 34th European Film Awards will return to the German capital, home of the European Film Academy, on 11 December.

Divided by the Wall for 28 years, the re-united city has quickly become a colourful and exciting international metropolis and home to creative people from around the world.

The 34th European Film Awards will take place as a live ceremony, broadcast and streamed from Berlin, on Saturday, 11 December 2021. It will not include the usual audience of academy members, partners and guests from the film industry, and will not be attended by the international media. Participation will be limited to nominees and award recipients. 

The decision acknowledges the deteriorating situation due to the COVID-19 pandemic in an increasing number of European countries, and in Germany. The pandemic will affect all events usually taking place during the Awards Weekend. 

The European Film Awards 2021 are presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Productions. Public supporters: Creative Europe MEDIA Sub-Programme of the EU, Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, FFA German Federal Film Board, Berlin Capital Cultural Fund, German State Lottery Berlin, and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. Sponsors: Aveda, Berlin Cuisine, Dorint Kurfürstendamm Berlin, MAC and ŠKODA AUTO Deutschland. Media partners: Euronews, Cineuropa and Radio Eins