Trilogia: To livadi pou dakryzei

Greece, France, Italy, Germany


Through references to the Theban Cycle Trilogy follows the fate of Hellenism as reflected in the relation of two people who first meet as children in 1919, during the flight of the Greeks from Odessa. They keep losing and finding each other at different periods of time and in different parts of the world living through the great historical events of the late 20® and early 21st centuries. The WEEPING MEADOW is set entirely in Greece and takes place between 1919 and 1949. The film begins with the entry of the Red Army into Odessa and the flight of the Greek community there and ends in 1949 with the end of the Greek civil war.

Cast & Crew

Directed by: Theo Angelopoulos

Written by: Theo Angelopoulos, Petros Markaris, Tonino Guerra, Giorgio Silvagni

Produced by: Phoebe Economopoulos

Cinematography: Andreas Sinanos

Editing: Giorgos Triandafyllou

Costume Design: Ioulia Stavridou

Original Score: Eleni Karaindrou

Cast: Nikos Poursanidis (Alexis), Giorgos Armenis (Nikos), Eva Kotamanidou (Cassandra), Vassilis Kolovos (Spyros), Toula Stathopoulou (Woman in the Cofee House), Thalia Argyriou (Danae), Grigoris Evangelatos (Teacher), Alexandra Aidini (Eleni)

Nominations and Awards

  • European Critic’s Award – Prix Fipresci 2004
  • European Director 2004
  • European Cinematographer – Prix Carlo Di Palma 2004
  • European Composer 2004
  • People's Choice Award 2004
  • Feature Film Selection 2004