Denmark, Iceland


Icelandic filmmaker Hlynur Pálmason shot this film right outside his house over a period of 18 months with the support and assistance of his three kids. Filmed on 35mm colour negative, Nest is reminiscent of the days of the old cinematograph. Like the sum of many Lumière brothers’ takes, this short unscripted film plays with the idea of time – both real time and ellipsis. Time that is informed by the seasons and the time it takes to build a nest. This is also the time that Pálmason, like many other inhabitants of planet Earth over the last year and half, has spent at home. Nest is a playful tale about a utopia, but also an attempt to craft a narrative in a different way, using the weather combined with the natural energy that kids have as a trigger for a story. The perfect film to overcome these times of pandemic.

NEST was chosen by the juries of the International Jury: Lene Maria Christensen (actress, Denmark), Per Damgaard Hansen (producer, Denmark), Sylvia Le Fanu (writer/director, Denmark/UK); the Danish Jury: Lauma Kaudzīte (festival director, Latvia), Nikolaj Scherfig (writer, Denmark), Ann Lind Andersen (film critic, Denmark); the Animation Jury: Michael Hegner (showrunner/director/writer, Denmark), Johan Edström (producer, Sweden), Mariám Zakarian (visual artist/VR, Armendia/Denmark); and the Documentary Jury: Florian Schewe (producer, Germany), Lars Bo Kimergård (film editor/director, Denmark), Thora Lorentzen (director, Denmark) have decided together on this short film candidacy for the European Film Awards 2022.

The short film programme is organised by the European Film Academy in co-operation with a series of film festivals throughout Europe. At each of these festivals, an independent jury presents one of the European short films in competition with a candidacy in the short film category of the European Film Awards.

Cast & Crew

Directed by: Hlynur Pálmason

Written by: Hlynur Pálmason

Cinematography: Hlynur Pálmason

Editing: Julius Krebs Damsbo

Original Score: Alex Zhang Hungtai

Sound Design: Björn Viktorsson

Cast: Ída Mekkín Hlynsdóttir (ída), Grímur Hlynsson (Grímur), Þorgils Hlynsson ( Þorgils)

Producer: Katrin Pors, Anton Máni Svansson, Mikkel Jersin, Eva Jakobsen

Nominations and Awards

  • Short Film Candidates 2022